Quick, give me something to grasp!

17 Feb

  I’m back to the revision cave to address feedback on C. This round will be tough, the   emotionally draining kind of layering because I need to add more emotion to my MC’s story. The reader doesn’t have anything to grasp, to hang on for the ride.


  It’s a dig deep to revisit my own humiliations, my own fears, my own times of panic, my own draw for courage.

 

Besides reliving my own history, I’ll have a playlist pulled together. No fluff or guilty pleasure music for this kind of revision! Lots if cinematic instrumentals and even a little opera,

How do you handle the emotional layering?

Happy Looong weekend, friends!

12 Responses to “Quick, give me something to grasp!”

  1. Margo Kelly February 17, 2012 at 5:33 pm #

    Oh dear! The quote in the picture nails my current situation. YIKES! And, yet, I love writing!! I’m stopping in from the campaign – I hope you have a great weekend!

    • hannahhale February 17, 2012 at 6:30 pm #

      Hi! Glad you stopped by!
      Isn’t writing an amazing thing? So many layers and levels to navigate. Hope the picture keeps your muse moving in a forward direction 🙂

  2. Chris Ledbetter (@Chris_Ledbetter) February 20, 2012 at 3:06 am #

    I’m stopping by from the Platform Campaign. Cheers.

  3. Lynda R Young February 20, 2012 at 5:16 am #

    I find that kind of writing really draining, and yet so satisfying at the same time. Have fun with your edits and remember to sit back and breathe onnce in a while 😉

    • hannahhale February 24, 2012 at 10:20 pm #

      You’re right, it’s fun…some scenes more than others 🙂

  4. doreen mcgettigan February 20, 2012 at 5:25 am #

    Call me crazy but I absolutely love revisions. Once I let go of the fear it was so much easier. I hope you can sail through…
    I look forward to reading your challenge piece.
    I have tagged you for some fun when you can take a break stop over…

  5. Brenna Braaten February 23, 2012 at 6:13 am #

    Hey there! I’m finally making the rounds and getting to other campaigners’ blogs.

    Hmmm. . . that’s a good question. I don’t know necessarily how I handle emotional stuff. The kinds of things I tend to write are pretty emotional upfront, so it kind of just goes with it. But music is definitely one thing I use to get myself into the correct mood.

  6. Jocelyn Rish March 2, 2012 at 10:15 am #

    I’ve actually been procrastinating (a ridiculously long time) the rewrite of my WIP because I need to layer in more emotional depth. The character is supposed to be pretty breezy and shallow, but I know there has to be that depth there to make her more real, so it’s been a struggle to figure out how to do it organically. We’ll get there!

    I’ve been slow in making my rounds, but I’m saying howdy from the YA campaign group.

    • hannahhale March 3, 2012 at 5:45 pm #

      Hi! Yes, that’s the trick, getting really deep in POV to feel what our character is feeling and show why without telling. Tough, tough writing! Music helps but really the best thing for me is envisioning the scene and being the character. Kind of like method acting, I guess 😀 Is this similar to what you do??

  7. Tia Bach March 2, 2012 at 3:40 pm #

    Emotional layering is difficult, but I try to access raw emotion and honesty. What makes a character compelling (wearing my reader hat here) is believing in them, trusting that I know why they are doing things. I want insight and honesty. Not easy.

    I try to draw from my own experiences and those of friends who have been through things I haven’t. I also don’t hold back. I’m cringed writing emotional scenes before fearing I’d put too much out there. That’s usually when I know I’m where I need to be.

    I came by, so pathetically behind, to say hi from your Campaign group #3. Glad I did. I’m a new follower, and looking forward to hearing how you are doing with this.

  8. Tia Bach March 2, 2012 at 3:41 pm #

    And I realized I think I may have stopped by before, so not only am I behind, I’m clearly overtaxing my brain on where I’ve been. 😉

  9. Morgan Shamy March 9, 2012 at 9:28 pm #

    This is something I struggle with… getting *really* deep with emotional turmoil… I’m such a plot/setting/love the writing girl… so, yeah, character and emotion has been my focus this time around with my WIP, but we’ll see how it turns out… gaaaah… 😉

What do you think?

